// you’re reading...

Think Tanks

US: Dr. Alejandro Chafuen received the 2014 Walter Judd Freedom Award – TFAS

Share this article:

The Fund for American Studies (TFAS) awarded Dr. Alejandro Chafuen the 2014 Walter Judd Freedom Award for advancing the cause of freedom through his tireless leadership in founding and nurturing think tanks around the world.

Roger Ream, president of The Fund for American Studies said, “Dr. Chafuen’s work with think tanks throughout the world has built a network that supports freedom and economic development. He has demonstrated great personal courage in the face of seemingly insurmountable obstacles to human freedom.”

Since 1991 Dr. Chafuen has served as president of the Atlas Economic Research Foundation, a nonprofit organization connecting a global network of more than 400 free-market organizations in over 80 countries to the ideas and resources needed to advance the cause of liberty. He is also the president of the International Freedom Educational Foundation and the Hispanic American Center of Economic Research. He serves on the boards of the Chase Foundation of Virginia, the Acton Institute and the Fraser Institute. He is an active honorary member of the John Templeton Foundation and a trustee of Grove City College and The Philadelphia Society. Recently Dr. Chafuen became a Forbes contributor, where he covers think tanks, scholars and champions of innovation.

Established in 1993, the Judd award recognizes individuals who have devoted their lives to the preservation and expansion of freedom and been outspoken voices against tyranny and oppression in the world and national affairs. These are the values of Dr. Walter Judd, a former U.S. congressman and missionary, whose courage, spirit and oratory inspired thousands of people worldwide throughout his seven decades in public life.

Lee Edwards of the Heritage Foundation and member of the Judd selection committee said, “Dr. Chafuen deserves this honor by reason of his untiring defense of global freedom, his deep understanding of the American experiment, and his cooperation with every other freedom-oriented organization around the world.” Edwards is the recipient of the 2008 Walter Judd Freedom Award.

In addition to Dr. Edwards past award recipients include: President Ronald Reagan, Mr. William F. Buckley, Jr., Mary Anastasia O’Grady, The Honorable Jack Kemp, Ambassador Jeane Kirkpatrick, U.S. Representative Frank Wolf and Harry Wu.

Dr. Chafuen received the award during a ceremony on Monday, July 14.

Source: The Fund for American Studies

(Total: 147 - Today: 1 )


No comments for “US: Dr. Alejandro Chafuen received the 2014 Walter Judd Freedom Award – TFAS”

Post a comment

Connect to HACER.ORG

FB Group


Support HACER today!

HACER is a tax-exempt organization under Section 501 (c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, our supporters will find their donations to be tax-deductible. Donate online now!