Simón Bolívar Award

HACER’s Simón Bolívar Award was inspired by the 19th-century Venezuelan military leader known as the ‘libertador’, since he played a key role in Hispanic America’s successful struggle for independence from the Spanish Empire.

The prize was developed to encourage those outstanding leaders whose work has successfully promoted security, freedom and democracy in the Americas.

Past winners:

Simon Bolivar Award 2010: Álvaro Uribe Vélez (Colombia)

Juan Bautista Alberdi Award

HACER’s Alberdi Award was inspired by the 19th-century Argentine intellectual Juan Bautista Alberdi. He will be remembered in the Americas as a champion of freedom for his contributions to the defense of liberty and for outlining the Argentine constitution in 1853.

The prize was developed to encourage and reward writers, essayists and commentators whose published works promote the institutions of a free society in the Americas: limited government, rule of law fostered by an independent judiciary, protection of private property, free markets, free speech, and sound science. The prize, a total of USD $2,000, will be awarded every year.

Past winners:

Juan Bautista Alberdi Award 2007: Marcos Aguinis (Argentina)

Juan Bautista Alberdi Award 2006: Álvaro Vargas Llosa (Peru)