HACER Awards

gisalexGiancarlo Ibargüen Freedom Award:

HACER´s Giancarlo Ibárgüen Freedom Award was designed to incentivize work that promotes personal liberty in a way that is consistent with human dignity. It is named after one of the greatest businessmen and promoters of the principles of liberty who has ever existed. During his time at the Francisco Marroquín University as well as through his contributions to the Liberty Fund, the Mont Pelerin Society, and many other organizations, Giancarlo Ibárgüen has exhibited an unparalleled generosity and an accepting spirit. His openness toward innovation, his penchant for discovery, and his tireless, always optimistic work in the face of many a challenge (in his personal life as much as in his commitment to his work and his country) have made Ibárgüen a role model for our generation and for generations to come.

Past winners:

* Giancarlo Ibargüen Freedom Award 2016: Giancarlo Ibargüen S. (Guatemala)

* Giancarlo Ibargüen Freedom Award 2017: Rocío Guijarro Saucedo (Venezuela)

Simón Bolívar Award

HACER’s Simón Bolívar Award was inspired by the 19th-century Venezuelan military leader known as the ‘libertador’, since he played a key role in Hispanic America’s successful struggle for independence from the Spanish Empire.

The prize was developed to encourage those outstanding leaders whose work has successfully promoted security, freedom and democracy in the Americas.

Past winners:

Simon Bolivar Award 2010: Álvaro Uribe Vélez (Colombia)

Juan Bautista Alberdi Award

HACER’s Alberdi Award was inspired by the 19th-century Argentine intellectual Juan Bautista Alberdi. He will be remembered in the Americas as a champion of freedom for his contributions to the defense of liberty and for outlining the Argentine constitution in 1853.

The prize was developed to encourage and reward writers, essayists and commentators whose published works promote the institutions of a free society in the Americas: limited government, rule of law fostered by an independent judiciary, protection of private property, free markets, free speech, and sound science. The prize, a total of USD $2,000, will be awarded every year.

Past winners:

Juan Bautista Alberdi Award 2007: Marcos Aguinis (Argentina)

Juan Bautista Alberdi Award 2006: Álvaro Vargas Llosa (Peru)

Comments are closed.